Final Draft Script

24/03/16


Bad Manners:

The reason I have named my script ‘Bad Manners’ is because the criminal gang who have captured Aaron don’t appreciate bad manners at the table, if you respect them and give them what they want they will in return appreciate you and give you respect.

I decided whilst I was developing ideas for my script that I didn’t want to include dialogue, however, to help the story flow I would need a few lines at the least. I would like to solely focus my script on sound effects to help build tension with also hand gestures and attitudes that are performed.

I am going to resort to using a voiceover to help narrate the story to the audience so they understand what’s happening and why it’s happening. I also previously spoke about a ‘MacGuffin’ in a later post, and this is a technique in film that Alfred Hitchcock famously made as his trademark for building tension in the narrative. I’m going to use the voiceover to establish a MacGuffin in my story by using the term ‘They’, by using this, I will make the audience aware of a dangerous presence and suspicious group, the audience will also see them but they won’t be able to identify them throughout the film, ‘They’ will remain completely anonymous.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 20.19.49Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 20.22.13Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 20.22.25Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 20.20.20

On the first page of this script, I have described someone who approaches the table to pull out a chair to seat Butch. I got this influence from a scene in ‘Sicario’:

Sicario (2015)

Dir. Denis Villeneuve

DOP: Roger Deakins

The lighting in this scene is lit strongly with tungsten, and this is a similar approach I would like to undertake for my scene. The character who is approaching the dinner table is lit dangerously low-key with with a high contrast. This is how I would like to view Butch, however, I don’t want him to be seen from above the chest line, I want him to be covered by shadow. When the character with the pistol takes a seat at the table in this Sicario scene, it displays dominance and calmness together by the way Deakins has lit the location, but more importantly the actors performances. The lighting can be perfect in my scene, but I also need the right actor to display a good performance, this scene influences me to write the script in a calm and dominant way and this then helps me to imagine how I want each shot lit.

 

Leave a Reply

